Sight Word Tic-Tac-Toe

IMG_8940.JPG

Learning to spell sight words can be tricky for many students. They often do not follow a specific spelling rule and can’t be sounded out phonetically. To make memorizing these words more enjoyable, I like to turn them into a game of Tic-Tac-Toe. I draw a 3 x 3 grid, and fill in 9 sight words I want to teach. I put this in a plastic sleeve so we can use dry erase markers.

First, I ask my student to point to each of the sight words and read them out loud. Then we play the game. Each turn, the player marks an X or O, practices spelling the word at the bottom of the page, and reads it out loud. I usually play a few rounds with my student at the beginning of the lesson, and then have them practice spelling the words without looking at them on their Daily Page. This is a fun, multi-sensory method of teaching sight words.

-Anne

Leave a comment